Hotel Cafe Royal Afternoon tea- the Oscar Wilde way

So me and my Parisian went to afternoon tea on this super beautiful sunny day and this time we had the pleasure of champagne-ing and scone-ing at Hotel Café Royal. I could have gone for a run but we would rather have some cakes, obviously.

The kind host lead me to my table in their Oscar Wilde Bar room where Oscar Wilde dined himself hence the name. Now I am a big fan of the fabulous playwright as I read so much of his work throughout university so I just had to see one of his hangouts for myself. The walls are covered with mirrors and a stunning gold interior top to bottom which surrounds the entire room, serious glamour! There is a pianist playing in the middle for some background music and bottles of Laurent Perrier being poured in elegant tall glasses.

Now let’s get to the good stuff; the sandwiches! Soft, fluffy and fresh- just the way I like it. The pastries were very well presented and the scones were cute and mini which went well with our tea. This tea room is a pure royal experience, if you like all things gold then this is the one. Also for you insta addicts, this room is great for photos! #opulent baby

The table you get is for 1.5 hours only but that is understandable as it was quite crowded by the time we left. I would give the service 5 stars as I didn’t have to wait around for anything, our champagne glasses were always full, the tea was warm and we had such a delightful time! I am so glad I found this little gem in Soho, definitely worth going to with your dear ones for a perfect afternoon 🙂

Address: 68 Regent St, Soho, London, W1B 4DY
Price: £55.00 per person inclusive of a glass of LP
Closest station: Piccadilly Circus

 

cafe 3cafe 6cafe2cafe4

cafe1

