Life in West London & The big dream?

Everyone looks good, the coffee tastes expensive and most appear to be so happy but the more you live here the more you you learn that it is just a ‘perfect picture‘- Basically, it looks gorgeous but nobody knows what is going on underneath the surface. I come across so many personalities pretending to something that they are not, I know I have met my fair share of ‘investment banker’ wannabes who do everything else in a bank but investment banking , ‘super models of instagram’ whose face you never saw in a magazine or fashion week for that matter and of course the full time bloggers. For some reason these are the only three occupations I come across here not that there is anything wrong with it but it is the same thing, every single time.

It is OK to have big dreams and want a certain type of life style but it is important to be true to yourself along the way- when I first arrived in London as a very young girl in my dorky glasses, I was living in zone 4- sleeping in my cousins house because I just could not afford the rent in the ‘place to be zone 1‘.  I was literally commuting 45 minutes in the morning to work and in the evening, it was obviously a drag but I did not want to live beyond my means. Asking my parents for money was out of the question too because they gave me such a strong education and it was now my time to use it and be the independent woman my mother didn’t have the chance to be when she was my age. So anything I accomplish by myself is a blessing and it brings me a lot of happiness.

har1]I do love  West London though, the shopping is fabulous and I have a circle of the bestest friends a girl could ever have!  Secure, educated ladies who offer the most intellectual conversations, advice and look good in 5 inch heels but they are rare and they don’t live in the West sadly. I hate to say this but perhaps big cities are like that? it can’t all be giggles and champagne all the time. There are the opportunists, the wannabes and the insecure which used to cause me a lot of negativity but a lesson was learnt and now I take my time to trust.

For now, I love walking past by pretty white town houses, the well dressed families brunching on a Sunday and the red sole heels strutting the street but I can admit and say that it is not everything to me. I do have my moments where I miss conversations where people don’t talk about money, or how they only go to exclusive places but you never saw them there for yourself in all those years you’ve been going out yourself. I mean if somebody starts talking to me about their holidays again- I will cry. I was fortunate enough to travel the globe with my family so the last thing I want to know is about how you rented yet another yacht bla bla bla, it is always the same story. I guess what I am trying to say is humility is far more attractive-

In an ideal world I would say I would like to be drinking coffee, in that very cute coffee shop listening to how you face timed your mother today, talk about how she is doing?  or even what book you’ve been reading lately and then I think…West London would actually be just perfect. 

w1

 

 

 

